André Nendza © Susanne Wittelsbürger

André Nendza

Tracklist CD 1

  1. Words (04:31)
  2. A Mad Bridge (06:35)
  3. The (06:21)
  4. Light Steps (06:59)
  5. Dream (05:39)

Tracklist CD 2

  1. Icon (06:51)
  2. Despair (07:25)
  3. Modular Love (06:26)
  4. The Stone Of The Stones (05:14)
  5. Me Vaccinated (06:45)

Tracklist CD 3

  1. About Rivers (07:22)
  2. Seven Long Summers (06:43)
  3. Five Dreams (05:17)
  4. What Happens, Happens (08:46)
  5. Zen Trade (06:49)
  6. The Sixth Dream (01:30)

produced by

André Nendza

Executive producer

Philipp van Endert & André Nendza


Angelika Niescier – Alto Saxophone
Matthias Bergman – Fluegelhorn
Martin Sasse – Piano
André Nendza – Double Bass
Niklas Walter – Drums

Christine Corvisier – Tenor,- Soprano Saxophone
Maik Krahl – Trumpet, Fluegelhorn
Mike Walker – Guitar
André Nendza – Double Bass
Christoph Hillmann – Drums, Percussion

About the album

The new album „5/5/9“ by bassist and composer André Nendza (ECHO award winner 2012) offers 16 tracks in three different line-ups (two quintets that also combine to form a nonet) on a triple CD/double vinyl. Here, Nendza refines his exploration of the theme of „Contrafacts“, which he began on the previous album „On Canvas“. The results are 16 compositions that cover an enormous range of jazz styles.

With saxophonists Angelika Niescier and Christine Corvisier, pianist Martin Sasse, Mike Walker, trumpeters Matthias Bergmann and Maik Krahl as well as Niklas Walter and Christoph Hillmann on drums, Nendza was able to recruit eight wonderful musicians who put their stamp on the compositions with enormous musical expertise and mature personal expression.

Enormously swinging passages meet transparent surfaces, densely interlocked rhythmic structures meet lyrical melodies. This colourful spectrum is held together by the core element of timing, which never goes out of fashion!

For the first time, „5/5/9“ tastefully unites the bassist’s various musical interests in the jazz context on one album and at the same time shows fresh perspectives for further musical adventures.

Release Date: 2024/04/12
Catalogue-No.: 5173JS
Little Fly